Awards & Honours

  1. Pratt-Whitney Chair Professorship, IISc, Bangalore, 2016
  2. “Eminent Engineer Award” by Institution of Engineers, 2015
  3. BEST Paper Award presented to paper titled “Shock Tunnel Studies of the Unsteady Hypersonic Flow Field around Spiked Bodies”, 30th International Symposium on SHock Waves, Tel Aviv, Israel, July 2015
  4. BEST POSTER Award presented to paper titled “Effects of Primary Flow Mach number on the Non-mixed Length in a Two-dimensional Supersonic Ejector”, 30th International Symposium on Shock Waves, Tel Aviv, Israel, July 2015
  5. “Distinguished Overseas Visitor” Invited Lectureship at Stanford University, USA, February 2015
  6. “Invited Lecture” at NASA Ames Research Centre, Moffet Field, February 2015
  7. Platinum Jubilee Award 2011, Institution of Engineers, Karnataka State, India
  8. Gold Medal in the Innovators competition organized by the DST-Lockheed Martin India Innovates Growth Programme-2010. Three technologies (Shock Wave treatment of bamboo, Micro-blast wave assisted technologies in biological sciences and smart hypersonic drag reduction coatings) from the Laboratory for Hypersonics and Shock Wave Research have been selected among the TOP 30 technologies out of 394 applications in this programme. These technologieswill now be provided with professional business plan for commercialization by Federation of Indian Chamber of Commerce and Industries and IC2 Institute, Uni. Of Texas at Austin
  9. ASI Award – Awarded by Astronautical Society of India for significant contributions to Rocket Related Technologies, 2010
  10. Delivered the Plenary Lecture in the prestigious 27th International hock Wave Symposium held in St. Petersburg, Russia during July 19-24, 2009. This is the official symposium of International Shock Wave Institute, Sendai, Japan
  11. Dr. Satish Dhawan Young Engineer Award 2008 by The Govt. of Karnataka for exceptional contributions to Aerospace Science & Technology
  12. Distinguished Alumnus Award 2008, awarded by the Bangalore Institute of Technology Alumni Association, Bangalore
  13. Nagarjuna Research Fellowship for THREE years from 2008 by M/s Nagarjuna Chemicals and Fertilizers Pvt. Ltd., Hyderabadin recognition of the work that has been carried out in the area of industrial applications of shock waves
  14. Royal Society of Engineering, UK Distinguished Visitor, University of Manchester, May – June 2008
  15. Simon Jones Industrial Fellowship, University of Manchester, October – November 2007
  16. Dr. Biren Roy Space Science Award for exception developing Electric Discharge based Flow Visualization technique by Aeronautical Society of India, 2006
  17. BEST POSTER AWARD presented to the paper titled “Effect of gas injection on drag and surface heat transfer rates for a 30 deg. semi apex angle blunt body flying at Mach 5.75”, at the 24th International Symposium on Shock Waves, Beijing, China, July 2005
  18. BEST POSTER AWARD presented to the paper titled “Shock waves assisted Agrobacterium transformation as a gene transfer method”, at the 25th International Symposium on Shock Waves, Bangalore, India, July 2005
  19. Visiting Lectureship, Tohoku University, Japan during 1999-2001
  20. JRD Tata Fellowship for being the outstanding PhD student during 1996-98 in IISc, Dept. of Aerospace Engineering